Visiting V and Hanging Out in Nature

When I was in college, I started seeing a therapist named V.  I was 20, she was 28.  She was just finishing her doctorate in counseling and I was working on a Bachelor’s  degree.  I saw V for therapy until I was about 32 years old, and then she sent me off to see an EMDR therapist.  I called and made an appointment once or twice a year to see V; not cause I needed her as a therapist, but because I missed her.  V was a great therapist and helped me to give voice to lots of my secrets.  I first learned to draw my secrets and feelings with V.  She was the first person ever to hold me when I cried. V was  also very motherly to me even though she was only 8 years older than I.  After a couple of years of making appointments to see V just because I missed her, I called her and told her that I really wanted to see her, but I didn’t want to make an appointment.  V paused for a moment and then asked if I was saying I wanted to be friends.  I said, yup.  V asked me if I was sure I was not going to need her as a therapist anymore.   I said, nope, I’ve  got a different therapist now.  V said, yup, we can be friends and we set up a lunch date.  We’ve seen each other for lunch or at each other’s  homes a few times a year ever since.  At first, it was a little awkward as I didn’t know much about V and she knew lots about me.  Over the years, I’ve learned more and more c about V and her life.  Then last year, she informed me that she was moving across the country and in went home crying about that.  My  wife reassured me that I’d be able to visit V.  So, on Thursday,  I flew across the country to Palm Springs to visit V.  I’ve learned much more about V’s life and her family in the last few days.  I’ve also met her brother and his husband.  Today, her brother-in-law,  V, and I went hiking at the Sand to Snow National Memorial which is absolutely breath taking.  I am really having an amazing experience and am so thankful for that.

8 thoughts on “Visiting V and Hanging Out in Nature

Leave a Reply

