This speaks to me today

​The past does not define you.

Inform you, yes.

Define you, no.

At least it doesn’t have to.

So many of us get stuck there.

Stuck in a story of what happened,

how hurt we feel,

what we wish had gone differently, etc…

and we use it to explain our behaviors,

our way of being now.

Now, let me be clear,

I value story tremendously.

Much of what I share is story,

when I meet new people

I want to know their stories.

This is one of the most beautiful ways

we can get to know another,

really drop into their world

and connect deeply.

I haven’t met a person that I didn’t love more

when I heard their story.

AND I caution against living there.

You are what you choose to become

I have met people who have triumphed

after truly remarkable odds,

after extreme tragedy and abuse.

I know it is hard.

But if you had a challenging past,

if you endured great suffering,

my hope – my offering is

that you do not give more of your life

to that which has already taken so much of you.

As difficult as it may be,

learn to let the past be the past.

Do the work,

get the help you need

to assure that what happened to you –

does not rob you of who you wish to become.

You can be changed by what has happened to you,

in fact I would be surprised if you are not.

But do not allow yourself to be reduced by it.

You are what you choose to become

This is something no one can ever take from you.

You get to decide how the story ends. 
💜 Emily Rosen

@EmilyJoyRosen  
#couragemylove #justwakingup #secretkeepers

6 thoughts on “This speaks to me today

    • I’m also stuck in the past right now, or at least I have been for a couple of weeks. That’s why this spoke to me so loudly. Something that has helped me start stepping out of this cycle was meditation last night and taking up residence in my body for probably the first time in several weeks.

      Like

  1. I know it is hard as the past at times creates wounds so deep that they stay with us for a lifetime. We never forget but we can learn to live win them and not let them define us. Use them to learn but not to become bitter, because if we did, they past would have won and enslaved us forever. And this is not your path my warrior queen. 😉❤️

    Like

    • Q,

      This part:

      “As difficult as it may be,

      learn to let the past be the past.

      Do the work,

      get the help you need

      to assure that what happened to you

      does not rob you of who you wish to become.”

      You are doing the work. I’m pretty sure that the author recognizes that the work takes time. Lots of times, I’m stuck in the past, but this spoke to me because I’m doing the work that will help me c hange that. So are you. I’m also going to add that comparing our wou.ds does nobody any good. My boys were rescued from their dysfunctional parents early on, but I can guarantee that they are more damaged than I was…a difference that I can’t explain. But, I cant judge it…it just is

      Like

Leave a Reply

