Surgery and stuff

I had my gallbladder removed on Wednesday and my plan was to be back on my feet on Thursday or Friday.  I didn’t plan for my gallbladder to be very inflamed and end up needing a drain which is still implanted in my right side.  I didn’t plan for this surgery to hurt more than my gastric bypass in November.  I didn’t plan for my abdomen to be so bloated that my size 3x pants felt tight …I really wear an xl.  I didn’t realize that this particular side effect of this surgery would be so emotional for me.  Two days after surgery, I weighed myself and I had gained 6 lbs.  I have not gained any kind of weight in a year.  I’ve lost lots of weight and at the very worst, maintained a weight for longer than I might have liked.  I can’t exercise for 4 weeks and that scares me.  Those things plus pain turned me into a sobbing mess a couple of nights ago.  I couldn’t stop crying and crying made my belly hurt more.  It was horrible.  Horrible enough that I finally took the narcotic painkillers that I avoid like the plague.  Both my parents are addicts.  I’m recovering from an addiction to food. I don’t want to be a drug addiction.  Well, thankfully, they stopped the pain but I don’t think I’ll get addicted because they made me extremely itchy.  I just can’t win sometimes.

 

4 thoughts on “Surgery and stuff

  1. I can only hope this phase will pass as quickly as it can. You are obviously determined to take care of your health, but constrained by circumstances over which you have no control. I have never had major surgery, so I can’t imagine what that must be like, but I would guess it has a tendency to screw up the best laid plans. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

