Living in the Moment

  • My therapist and I have been talking often lately about living in the moment.  Living in the moment is one of the things that MT (my therapist) thinks will help the most with intrusive memories and flashbacks and body memories and nightmares.  I get living in the moment and being aware of what I am doing and what is happening to me.  I get that living in the moment needs to be nonjudgmental.  It is what it is.  And it can change from one moment to the next.  I get accepting the feelings that I am having at the time.  I get not thinking about where these feelings are coming from or how they are affecting the future.  But, I don’t get how to live in the moment with flashbacks or body memories.  They are from another time.  They take me out of the moment.  So how does living in the moment help?  I know I can tell myself that this is not happening right now and I am truly safe.  But what about the feelings?  I’m supposed to accept my feelings without judgment and let them flow through me until they are done.  But the feelings are in the present and they are in the past and I am confused.  If I tell myself they are not from now, they come back with a vengeance, until I feel them.  But if I feel them, am I in the present or the past?
One thought on “Living in the Moment

  1. If I understand what E is trying to teach me, the idea would be to say, “Oh, Feeling X, it is you again. You often show up when I get in an argument with my spouse/go to the gynecologist/hear from my mother/whatever. It brings you here to help me relive the terror/pain/fear/shame that I once experienced. I don’t know why you want to bring it back. Maybe you are trying to warn me of the danger that could occur. I just want you to know that you can come if you need to, but I’ve got this now. I can keep us safe. ” you let it come, you accept that it comes for a reason, but you don’t lose track of a different reality now. Something like that. Not that I’ve got it mastered, not at all! Just trying…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

