Liebster Award from Q

Du bist mein Liebster means you are my favorite or my dearest. The Liebster Award is designed to recognize bloggers with fewer than 1000 followers (some versions say 200, some say 3000; there are varying opinions) and to introduce them to more readers. I want to thank Q from LaQuemada.org for nominating me. Her blog addresses issues of mental health and trauma. She shares her journey in recovering from depression and coming to believe the Girl (a younger part of herself) in believing that she experienced abuse at the hands of her father.

Award - Liebster

According to the “rules” of the award, I am supposed to answer five questions my nominator posed, and then nominate others to answer my questions. Naturally this is entirely optional. (Special note to those who feel guilty for not meeting others’ expectations: optional means TRULY optional; I won’t be upset if you don’t pass it along.)

1. If you could achieve one thing with your blog, what would that be?  I think that I cannot answer this question for just one thing.  I started writing this blog just so that I would be able to put out there some of the experiences I have had.  I have spent lots of time looking for other people who experienced the same things as I, and have found nothing for some of the more bizarre experiences I had.  I thought that, if by any chance, somebody else had experienced the same things, I wanted them to feel not so alone.  Although, I have not been brave enough yet to write about lots of the stuff.

I have experienced lots of healing with my therapist, MT, and I want to spread the healing words she has provided me with to other people.  The biggest thing is that I am a warrior.  Anybody who has experienced trauma, and survived, and has broken the cycle of abuse is a warrior.  There may be huge battles and losses and wounds and victories, but we who have broken the cycle, are warriors.

#2. What issues have you considered writing about on your blog but not yet addressed, and why?

Well, I’ve considered writing about considerable abuse by my mother, but I have not gotten there yet.  I have also experienced some other kinds of abuse, like being denied access to the bathroom, that I have not really written about yet.

The other journey as I that I really don’t write about are my wife, my kids, my friends, my everyday non-therapy life.  Also I usually do not write about my experiences with foster care and adoption as I think all of these things probably belong on some other blog.  I also have not been writing much about my weight loss journey, as that is another thing that I am not sure belongs on this blog or if it needs a whole blog to itself, but it is a part of my healing journey.

#3. What book(s) do you thiink more people should be reading?

I think that people should be reading any books that open their minds to new ideas or that transport them to a different place, whether that be a fictitious or real place, another time period, another culture, a more relaxing place, or just the imagination of the author’s mind.

I think that women who have emotionally unavailable mothers should read  The Emotionally Absent Mother:  A Guide to Self-Healing and Getting the Love You Missed by Jasmin Lee Cori.

I like the Courage to Heal for women who have experienced childhood sexual abuse.  I found the personal accounts to be particularly helpful as it helped me to see that my reactions to my abuse were not overly dramatic.

#4. Given the many good blogs out there, how do you decide which ones to read regularly?

I read blogs that speak to important parts of my life, like healing, child abuse, foster parenting, adoption, weight loss, parenting, art.

There’s a couple of blogs I follow and hold my breath waiting for posts because the women who write them often seem to be in similar places to me in our healing journeys and their writing helps me to find things I still need to address or gives me confirmation that I am headed in the right direction or helps me to know different paths I should look at.  Thank you, Q and Rachel.

#5. A year from now, what you like to see happening in your life?

Well, I’d like to say that I will be going to therapy just once a week instead of twice, but I’m not sure when that will be truly realistic.  The fact is, I don’t think I’ve yet had a therapy session where I felt I did not address important things.  I would like to see my therapy move from addressing my childhood trauma to being the woman I’m meant to be.

I would also like to see myself at least 100 pounds thinner.

And I would like to have adopted another child.

Here’s my list of nominees. Dear nominees, I think you are awesome. If you don’t feel like answering the questions and passing on the award, no worries. It would be great, though, if people would check out different blogs listed here. I read you and appreciate you so much.

Therapy Sucks

SassaFrassTheFiesty

WTF

Raison d’etre

both sides of the wall

Please check out these excellent blogs. For those of you who want to answer questions, here are my questions for you:

  1.  Who has been the most influential person in your life and why?
  2. What books do you think people should be reading?
  3. What kind of blogs do you read?
  4. What were you hoping for when you started blogging?
  5. What are some items on your bucket list?

#And thanks to everyone for the time and effort you put into your blogs. Ich liebe Euch alle; I love you all.

One thought on “Liebster Award from Q

  1. Thank you, Patty. I appreciate how honest you are about your experiences and healing. And I still listen to some of the songs you’ve shared, on repeat. I’m glad we can encourage and inspire each other on this difficult path.

    Like

Leave a Reply

