Staying Present During Trauma Therapy: Grounding Techniques

I reposted this blog because grounding and imagery are two of the things that are helping me the most in my healing journey at the moment.  MT helped me to find grounding techniques and imagery that works for me.  I have had other therapists give me cookie cutter exercises to use, but when they didn’t work for me and I couldn’t make them work, it was that I wasn’t trying hard enough.

Dr. Kathleen Young: Treating Trauma in Tucson

Staying Present During Trauma Therapy: Grounding Techniques

Working through trauma can be scary, painful, and potentially overwhelming. Very often people who have experienced trauma have coped at least in part through some degree of dissociation. While this was necessary for your survival then, continued dissociation (especially forms that are not within your control) is not adaptive once the abuse has stopped. Now the task of therapy is to help you stay present long enough to learn other means of establishing safety in the present. How does someone with automatic survival skills of dissociation learn to do this? Grounding is one skill that can help.

Trauma therapy does not only consist of telling your story or focusing on traumatic memories, though of course that is a crucial part of the work. Bringing trauma memories to mind, talking about them in a trusting relationship, and developing the capacities for managing them while staying present in the moment are all…

View original post 623 more words

Leave a Reply

